Tahiti Champions Of Oceania.

Tahiti defeated New Caledonia 1-0 in the final of the Oceania Cup. It is the first time that a nation outside of Australia or New Zealand have won the tournament. New Zealand had lost their semi-final to New Caledonia 2-0 and ended up beating the Solomon Islands 4-3 the third place play-off.

Australia of course no longer participate in the Oceania Cup after their move to the Asian Football Confederation. Tahiti will now take part in next years Confederations Cup in Brazil. They are currently ranked 179th in the world  and will surly be the lowest ranked nation to ever compete in a FIFA tournament. Steevy Chong was the hero for Tahiti scoring the only goal of the game in the 11th min.

It is an unbelievable achievement for the tiny island nation, who have also qualified for the next stage of the World Cup qualifiers. The top four nations at the Oceania move into the next stage which see them all play each other in a home and away system. The nation that finishes on top will then play the forth best side from the CONCACAF region. The winner of that play-off will make it to Brazil 2014.

Tahiti are heading for Brazil!


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s