What’s in a name?

I may be in the minority here but I really do not like name “Socceroos”. I know it is a long standing sporting tradition in Australia to give their sides nick names. Eg The Wallabies in Rugby Union, Boomers in Basketball, Kookaburras in hockey and so on. However in a country that is trying to be taken seriously world wide as a football nation getting rid of any reference to the word ‘soccer’ would be a good start. The official governing body in Australia is now called the FFA, Football Federation Australia, it is no longer Soccer Australia. With that rebirth we should have attempted to reboot our image as well. I find it embarrassing at times having to refer to my beloved national side as the Socceroos, it’s hardly the most intimidating name in the world. I know it will never happen but I hope I’m not the only person who thinks this. It may not seem a big deal to some but there are subjects that just irk some people and this is one of them. I’m not really crazy about the club names like Brisbane Roar but one thing at a time….fans

Leave a Reply

